Wesley Chapel Nissan, located on S.R. 54, hosted a “Candidates Forum” on July 25 to give the public a chance to meet some of the names that will appear on the ballot on August 26 and in November.

By Gary Nager

In case you haven’t heard, there’s an important Primary Election coming up on Tuesday, August 26. A primary? Important? 

Well, yes, it is, actually. In addition to Republican and Democratic primary elections for Governor of our fair state (although most assume the incumbent, Republican Rick Scott, will win the GOP nod and face off against former Gov. Charlie Crist, the expected Democratic winner), there also are two seats up for grabs on the Pasco County Board of County Commissioners, one Pasco School Board seat and five Circuit Judge races that will be decided or whittled down to two candidates in the primary.

To that end, .Wesley Chapel Nissan, located on S.R. 54 opposite the new Walmart store, hosted a “Meet the Candidates” event on July 25 (the day we went to press with this issue) that featured appearances by 14 of the 18 candidates (or their representatives) set to square off on Aug. 26 

The lobby of the dealership was packed with at least 200 people who not only got to meet and greet these candidates but also enjoy great food from City Grill and the new Cody’s Roadhouse (both on S.R. 54), A Dash of Salt & Pepper on Cross Creek Blvd. in New Tampa and the Latin Twist Café on BBD, across from Florida Hospital Wesley Chapel, plus wine and beer provided by A Time for Wine. 

[new_royalslider id=”47″]

Below is the list if candidates Wesley Chapel residents who decide to participate in the Primary Election (whether by mail, absentee ballot or in person on the 26th) will be choosing among in the primary: 

Circuit Judge, 6th Judicial Circuit 

All of these (except Group 2) will be decided in the Aug. 26 Primary Election

Group 1 – Laura Snell vs. Susan St John

Group 2 – Ken Lark vs. Alicia Polk & Allen Scott Rosenthal. (The top two finishers advance to a runoff on Nov. 4 if no one wins 50% +1 vote on Aug. 26.)

Group 16 – Brian Battaglia vs. Kimberly “Kim” Sharpe

Group 21-Phil Matthey vs. Amanda Colon

Group 35 – Bruce Boyer (incumbent) vs. Jon Newlon

Pasco County Commission

District 2 – Mike Moore, Bob Robertson & Ken Littlefield (all Rep.) will be contested Aug. 26. Winner faces Dem. Erika Jean Remsberg on Nov. 4.

District 4 – Mike Wells vs. Henry Wilson (both Rep.). Winner wins seat in Aug. 26 Universal Primary Election.

Pasco School Board

District 5 – Steve Luikart (incumbent) vs. Marc Yacht. Winner wins seat in Aug. 26 Primary Election.

Recommended Posts

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment